As always, let’s look at how my predictions for last year fared (posted exactly one year ago):

  • AJAX is very popular now, and everyone seems comfortable with JavaScript.
  • “WordPress will continue its work towards a monopoly on blog software. Movable Type just sinks into the background, but around August tries to make a big comeback. I predict Six Apart will slash Typepad late in 2006.” 2 out of 3 ain’t bad.
  • I was right about not too much Terrorism I guess, from this west-coaster’s point of view. I sincerely hope that this “War on Terror” will be exposed for this sham it is by this time next year.

Music

While in Ireland I discovered some great music, including David Morales’ “Needin’ U”, and the Shapeshifter’s “Sensitivity” (featuring Chic, believe it or not). I also liked “Mas que Nada” by Sergio Mendes and the Black Eyed Peas, and “Somebody’s Watching Me” by the Beatfreakz.

People of the Year

2006 will be remembered by me as a very important year because of the discovery of 3 great composers: Frank Zappa, Brian Wilson, and George Gershwin. These guys definitely shaped my year. They are the 3 people of the year for 2006. Maybe they didn’t affect you, but they did affect me, and gosh darn it this is my blog!

Top 5 Blogs of 2006

  1. Kottke.org
  2. The Education Wonks
  3. Decrepit Old Fool
  4. Stupid Evil Bastard
  5. Think Progress

This year pretty much rocked. I hope yours did too. Roll on 2007!

