I don’t talk about music nearly as much as I could on this blog, so hopefully this new series will bring the music fans out of the woodwork.

The first band in this series is new to me. I discovered them just about a month ago. They were most active in the 80s. The band I am talking about is, of course, Was (Not Was. Weird name, great music.

The music they played was a mix of soul, funk disco-sounding tunes, with odd lyrics. Their front men were seasoned soul singers, and the brains behind the group were two Jewish guys from Detroit, David and Don Was. Their biggest single was “Walk the Dinosaur” (#7 US) from their 1988 Smash album What up, Dog?. Other favourite songs from this album include “Anything Can Happen” and “Somewhere in America There’s a Street Named After My Dad”.

A taste of their lyrics from “Anything Can Happen”:

She took me in her bedroom to show me her computer
She asked me if I liked it I told her she was cuter
[…]
She talked about her father said he never really liked her
She told me she’d been married to a schizophrenic biker

(By the way, it’s Thursday and you know what that means!)

