Warning: Controversial ideas ahead. Please use caution. If need be I will turn off comments.

Having just viewed an episode of Degrassi which deals with school shootings, I’d like to talk about how I feel.

Most importantly, I feel that the blame is being placed on the wrong things. Instead of blaming music, movies, video games, or even teaching evolution (cough…TomDeLay), perhaps we should blame America’s culture and society. In fact, I think that’s exactly what we should do.

In a culture where being smart is downplayed as uncool and nerdy and as an outcast, school shootings are inevitable. The people who bully people and get shot by them are, in the eyes of ths shooter, being punished for ruining a life by taking theirs away. Maybe they deserved it. That may sound a little extreme, but it’s all about perspective.

